Search by Category/Standards for End Point Assessment Organisations approved by the ESFA. The sole purpose of the directory of end-point assessment organisations is to provide employers with a choice of organisations who have shown the esfa that they are capable of delivering independent end-point assessment for a particular standard: Find A End Point Assessment Organisation
Posted By Apprenticeships Directory on 16/10/2020 in Apprenticeship Sector News Stories

Change made: Updated the list of standards being assessed by Ofqual from November 2020. Added more detail about the transition arrangements for Ofqual taking on the assessment of standards between now and July 2022. Update 16th October

Change made: Updated the list of standards being assessed by Ofqual from November 2020. Added more detail about the transition arrangements for Ofqual taking on the assessment of standards between now and July 2022. Update 16th October

Important information about the changes to external quality assurance

The external quality assurance (EQA) arrangements for apprenticeship standards and end-point assessment organisations (EPAOs) are changing, following consultation by the Institute for Apprenticeships and Technical Education (the Institute).

Apart from integrated degrees, the EQA for most standards will be conducted by Ofqual. Standards will transition to Ofqual in 2 main phases:

  • by end of July 2021 all standards for which the Institute is the EQA provider will move to Ofqual.
  • by end of July 2022 all standards where EQA is currently delivered by other external bodies will move to Ofqual.

A number of standards will be quality assured by Ofqual from November 2020.

EPAOs wishing to apply to assess these Ofqual quality assured standards (MS Excel Spreadsheet, 11.2KB) will need to be recognised by Ofqual before we can approve your application.

From 16 November 2020 organisations applying to the register of EPAOs to assess standards in the first phase of transition will also need to seek recognition by Ofqual and have this in place before their application to the register can be approved.

This applies to organisations not currently on the register and those that have not yet applied.

Details of the current EQA provider for each standard can be found on the Institute website.

The application process to the register for EPAOs is in 2 stages.

Before you start you must:

  • be registered with the Information Commissioner’s Office
  • have read the assessment plan for the standard you are applying for
  • have been trading for a minimum of 3 months
  • have read the conditions for organisations on the register of end-point assessment organisations

We are particularly encouraging applications for standards where there are currently no EPAOs or low numbers of EPAOs relative to learner numbers.

We will therefore prioritise the review of applications for standards in this category. Whilst we welcome applications to the register for all standards, the review of applications for standards with greater EPAO numbers will take longer.

Stage 1 – about you and your organisation

You must provide:

  • your company number and UK provider reference number (UKPRN) if you have one
  • details of the person(s) with significant control (PSC) over the organisation
  • details if any PSC has any criminal convictions
  • a copy of your organisation’s most recent statutory accounts (or management accounts if you have been trading for less than 1 year)

Before you proceed to stage 2, you must submit stage 1 to the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA) to see if you meet these requirements. If you are successful, you will be invited to complete the competency and capability section to assess a standard.

Stage 2 – policies, procedures and evidence of capability


You must upload your:

  • Information Commissioner’s Office registration
  • internal audit policy
  • public liability insurance
  • professional indemnity insurance
  • employers liability insurance
  • safeguarding policy
  • Prevent agenda policy
  • conflict of interest policy
  • monitoring procedures
  • monitoring processes
  • complaints and appeals policy
  • fair access policy
  • consistency assurance for assessing a standard


You will need to provide evidence from the last 3 years of your organisation’s:

  • occupational competence for each of the standards that you’re applying for
  • experience of working in the occupational area for the standard you are applying to assess

You will also need the following information about each assessor:

  • what skills, experience and qualifications they have that are relevant to the assessments they’ll be doing
  • what skills, experience and qualifications they have in the occupational area that you’re applying for
  • how you will keep their occupational expertise up to date

Readiness and delivery areas

You will need to indicate:

  • when you think you will be ready to conduct your first end-point assessment
  • the regions where you can conduct end-point assessments

After you have submitted stage 2

If your application is successful, you will be sent a conditions of acceptance letter to sign.

Your organisation will be added to the Register of end-point assessment organisations once we have received your signed copy of the acceptance letter.

Published 11 April 2019
Last updated 16 October 2020 + show all updates
Contact This Member
Contact This Member

Search Website Blog